Fresh Eyes [Poem]

Today I played my first “gig” at the SNAFU summer festival in Toronto. It was a hell of a time, and all the other bands and families were amazing!

With that, here is a little poem.

Fresh Eyes

Today I watched two people I know
Get
Bled
With Ink.

I’d never say
I’d never do it again.
That’s what scares me, like a baby
In the backseat
Bumping
Down
A
Piano
Key
Stair
Case
On the backs of grey-blue elephants.

Lumbering along behind the stallions that
Free
Climb the wall ahead of me,
A head,
Of me.

It’s just black
Even when it bleeds.
Only when it gets wrapped does it show
Colour

As the blood gets sandwiched
Between
Layers of skin and cellophane.

Later I will draw off this.
I will
I will
I will.

Fresh Eyes [Poem]

Leave a Reply

